Leadership Team

A strong foundation is necessary to build the best department possible. We are proud to have a fantastic leadership team dedicated to constant improvement and supporting our students. Below are the faculty members currently on the leadership team. Please contact the appropriate director for any program specific questions.

Zhiyuan Chen headshot

Zhiyuan Chen, Ph.D.

Interim Chair

zhchen@umbc.edu

  Undergraduate Team

Richard Sponaugle, M.S.

Undergraduate Program Director – IS

rspona1@umbc.edu

Karuna Joshi, Ph.D.

Undergraduate Program Director – BTA

karuna.joshi@umbc.edu

 

Dina Glazer, M.S.

Associate Undergraduate Program Director for Advising

dgorin1@umbc.edu

Jennifer Carter, D.M.

Associate Undergraduate Program Director

jcarter@umbc.edu

 

Graduate Team

Sreedevi Sampath, Ph.D.

Graduate Program Director – IS

sampath@umbc.edu

Andrea Kleinsmith, Ph.D.

Graduate Program Director – HCC

andreak@umbc.edu

 

James Foulds headshot

James Foulds, Ph.D.

Graduate Program Director – Online M.S. in IS

jfoulds@umbc.edu

Erin Van Dyke, Ph.D.

Graduate Program Director – M.P.S. in Health IT

evandyk1@umbc.edu

 

Mohammad Samarah, Ph.D.

Graduate Program Director – M.P.S. in Software Engineering

msamarah@umbc.edu

Todd Karner headshot

Todd Karner, Ph.D.

Assistant Graduate Program Director – M.P.S. in Health IT

toddkarn@umbc.edu

 

  Program Liaisons

George Karabatis, Ph.D.

Liaison for Programmatic Innovation

georgek@umbc.edu

Jianwu Wang headshot

Jianwu Wang, Ph.D.

Liaison for Research Innovations

jianwu@umbc.edu

 

Michael Brown headshot

Michael Brown, Ph.D.

Liaison for External Partnerships – Online M.S. in IS

michaelb@umbc.edu