COVID-19 (Coronavirus)
UMBC is open. The physical campus is closed, but courses are now online and employees are working remotely.
Skip to Main Content

Data Science

The area includes both fundamental and applied research in database management, data mining, and data warehousing. Faculty research includes database and data warehouse; data mining methodologies and applications, specifically privacy preserving data mining, anomaly detection, spatial data mining, and data mining for digital government; data integration; and mobile databases. Research has been conducted in application areas such as cyber security, GIS, healthcare, and digital government.

Faculty with an interest in DB/DM:

  • Zhiyuan Chen, PhD, Cornell University (zhchen@umbc.edu) [Associate Professor]
  • Aryya Gangopadhyay, PhD, Rutgers University (gangopad@umbc.edu) [Professor]
  • Vandana Janeja, PhD, Rutgers University (vjaneja@umbc.edu) [Professor]
  • Karuna P Joshi, PhD, UMBC (kjoshi1@umbc.edu) [Assistant Professor]
  • George Karabatis, PhD, University of Houston (georgek@umbc.edu) [Associate Professor]
  • A. Gunes Koru, PhD, Southern Methodist University (gkoru@umbc.edu) [Professor]
  • Maryam Rahnemoonfar, Ph.D, University of Salford Manchester (maryam@umbc.edu) [Associate Professor]
  • Jianwu Wang, PhD, Institute of Computing Technology, Chinese Academy of Sciences (jianwu@umbc.edu) [Assistant Professor]