Skip to Main Content

Minor in Information Systems

Effective 2013:  All upper level IS and Management courses used to satisfy these program requirements must be taught through the IS department at UMBC.

The IS minor consists of three required IS courses, a required programming course, and two IS electives:

The three required IS courses are:

The student may choose one of the following for the programming course:

Plus two elective from the following list:


  1. The IS minor is not available to IS or BTA majors.
  2. CMSC 201 will be accepted as a substitute for IS 125 or 147 for students who are or were declared CMSC or CMPE majors.
  3. The IS minor constitutes 18 credits, including 9 upper-level credits.
  4. Some of the courses in the list of options have prerequisites that are not part of the minor.
  5. All courses must be completed with a grade of “C” or better.